Documenting FOR Learning

This post is my own personal reflection on a blog post I read!

I feel as though documenting for learning was always something teachers did innately, without having put an actual name on the method. It’s important to document what you are doing, how it worked, how different types of learners responded to it, that way you know how to proceed with your teaching. As a teacher who collaborates a lot with my colleagues, I find it helpful to have these notes on hand when talking with other teachers. This allows me to get detailed about my teachings and its success.

Making these documentations will allow me to make improvements for the next time that I teach. Seeing what was successful and unsuccessful with the students will allow me to make the appropriate adjustments, without making the same mistakes again. Written documentation can be filed and revisited many times of in order to deliver the best possible lesson for the students.

Students should also document for learning in order to begin understanding what type of students they are and how they learn best. Being able to see that a tool was successful  in the student’s learning can help them for future courses and remind them of what works for them. Documenting their successes and failures for learning will help the students share their experiences and knowledge with their classmates in order to form a collaborative bond in learning.

4 thoughts on “Documenting FOR Learning

  1. I like the part you wrote about students documenting their failures. I think failure can be healthy for students sometimes. They have to learn from mistakes and try again. A lot of times students try and bury failure (and I mean, most of us as adults would do the same), but I think the skill of recovering from it is a big deal and a good skill.

    Like

  2. You bring up great points about documenting success and failures – students need to learn from mistakes and realize that it is OKAY to make mistakes. It might help them move on and try something new if they have everything documented!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your point about students documenting in order to understand what types and kinds of learners they are is a good one. There are several “learning styles” quizzes that you can find online. I believe MyBlueprint and Career Cruising have some as well.

    Like

  4. Hi Melissa,

    Great post! I agree when you say “Students should also document for learning in order to begin understanding what type of students they are and how they learn best.” This is a great way for students to realize what type of learner they actually are!
    Thanks, Julie

    Like

Leave a Reply

